Cloud Computing Notes for ”Cloud Computing Service Models” Complete Notes for Chapter 1 of Cloud Computing for B.Tech and Diploma Classes

Cloud Computing “Service Models”

Cloud computing is based on service models. These are categorized into three basic service models which are :-

Infrastructure-as–a-Service (IaaS)

Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS)

Software-as-a-Service (SaaS)

Anything-as-a-Service (XaaS) is yet another service model, which includes Network-as-a-Service, Business-as-a-Service, Identity-as-a-Service, Database-as-a-Service or Strategy-as-a-Service.

The Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) is the most basic level of service. Each of the service models inherit the security and management mechanism from the underlying model, as shown in the following diagram:

Cloud Computing Service Models


IaaS provides access to fundamental resources such as physical machines, virtual machines, virtual storage, etc.


PaaS provides the runtime environment for applications, development and deployment tools, etc.


SaaS model allows to use software applications as a service to end-users.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.